angel, audition, buffy, contest, entertainment, facebook, gaming, geek, geek chic, gurren lagann, Harry Potter, king of the nerds, kingdom hearts, motherhood, nerd, parenthood, starcraft, tbs, Uncategorized, warcraft, world of warcraft

Confession time

My poor husband probably didn’t know exactly what he was getting himself into when he married me. But then again, I guess that happens when you get married after knowing each other for a month and a half. (Yes, we are crazy. No, I wouldn’t have it any other way!) I had warned him ahead of time that his would-be-wife was a huge nerd but I don’t think he really understood until we moved into our own place. Unpacking my video games was easy enough, the comics a little harder, the video game figurines even harder. He likes to often hold them up in their boxes and ask “are these really worth money?” and “do you really need these?” At which point I hold up his Minkin’ and Muskrattin’ dvd and ask “do you really need this?” Argument over. Good thing my husband doesn’t know that I’ve put a couple of my stuffed animals in with our son’s. Momo and my moogle (kupo!) hide very well between Pooh and other various bears.

So why the sudden outing of my nerditude? Because, like every other cool nerd, I have auditioned to be on the second season of King of the Nerds! I was super nervous sending in my first tape and incredibly excited… but then I never heard back. I was very sadpanda. Until they announced their second form of auditioning: The People’s Nerd contest! TBS called for audition tapes to be uploaded onto Facebook so that viewers could vote a person on.

Just so you know, submitting a tape to this requires a touch of embarrassment and can be quite humbling. Why is it that I almost expect to have someone send it to Tosh.0 and to get a call about being in a web redemption… But here’s the cool thing that has also come out of this. My fellow nerds, friends and family have actually rallied behind me! Not only have they shared my video (as well as voted), their friends have also shared. It’s like a geek-cry heard round the world! The embarrassment and wallflowery feeling has definitely vanished now and I’m feeling the love.

This is where you come in, dear readership! Please vote for my video audition and, if you feel so inclined, share it with your friends. It would be so incredibly epic to win this show ($100,000 anyone?!) and every vote really helps. By the by, you can vote once every day until voting closes. To vote, click here for the video then click the ❀ Vote button at the bottom left. Though I don’t know how many votes I have actually received, I do know my view count. The video with the highest views is around 500, while mine is currently at 162. I would LOVE to see this number jump! So what d’ya think, can you help this geeky momma out? πŸ˜€

Standard

2 thoughts on “Confession time

Leave a Reply

