baby, baby boy, books, designer, exercise, gaming, goals, graphic design, health, healthy-living, home, husband, Kids, kids, killian, literature, mental-health, motherhood, parenthood, pilates, resolutions, sleep deprivation, videogames, work, working mom

Resolutions? What Resolutions?

I’ve never really been one to make resolutions. Why? Up to this point in my life, I’ve been semi-lazy (I’ll totally admit it). Or at least, I’ve given in to my lazier tendencies. That’s a pretty easy habit to break once you have a child. Let’s face it, you can’t exactly sleep in until 11 on a Saturday when your little babe wakes up at 7. (Oddly enough, I’ve actually found that I get far more done when I get up with K at 7. Imagine that.) You can’t spend the whole day on the computer, and other such lazy things. Since 2012 was a huge year of change, I figured I should at least make some goals for 2013. I don’t know why, but the word resolution feels like something you can give up on. Every time we come upon a new year, the news seems to have a feeding frenzy on statistics of how many Americans will actually succeed at their resolutions. (Thanks for the optimism guys!) Goals feels much more like something I will make happen, even if that’s eventually. So let’s get started!

1. It’s the year to make amends!
As a parent, I want to teach my child through actions not just commands. I’ve met a lot of parents (mostly the ones that raised my generation) that used the mantra “Do as I say, not as I do.” My guess is they’d never heard monkey see, monkey do because we monkeys saw, and we monkeys did! There are points in my life that I can look back on and I become genuinely embarrassed by. I’ve hurt and lost friends and deeply regret that now. It’s time to start swallowing pride and apologizing for being an ass. The lesson to Killian: it’s okay to speak your mind, but if it hurts those around you, you should be prepared to apologize.

2. Time to lose that baby weight!
Originally, I had wanted to visit the gym every weekend. One of my bosses had worked out a deal with our gym client (pun accidental intended) so that each of us here have a membership with the choice of free tanning or childcare. Tough choice. Unfortunately, we haven’t been able to sign the contracts yet and I don’t want a goal to sit by the wayside until I can get to this gym. For the time being, I’ll try out the Pilates dvds I have at home collecting dust. Husband usually works when I’m at home, which will save me the embarrassment that tends to come with workout dvds. Maybe I’ll even get a spiffy headband to match their 80’s ensembles. And then again, maybe I shouldn’t go too crazy.

3. Read. More.
Thanks to my parents, I am now the proud owner of a Kindle Fire. Soon, I should also be the proud owner of many, many books. I have to try to cool it on buying books, otherwise I may deprive my family of a few things we actually need. You know, food and such. If this was a couple years ago and I was still single-Mandi, I probably would have blown my checking account and lived off of hot chocolate and peanut butter toast for 2 weeks. Books on the list to buy: A Song of Ice and Fire series, Peter Pan, Ready Player One, Casual Vacancy, hopefully an illustrated version of Where The Wild Things Are for little K, and more. Much, much more.

4. Stay up to date with my industry.
I know it’s hard to believe, but Alaska is awfully cut off from the rest of the world. So it’s time to start listening to podcasts, reading design blogs and possibly resubscribe to Communication Arts.

5. Continue to remind myself that motherhood is a learning process.
I don’t know why, but I’ll often settle into an idea about Little K. Once I do, wouldn’t you know it, my son goes and changes everything. It’ll take me a good regrouping to realize that I can’t treat my son the same as I did the day before or before that. He might not want to go to bed because he has a new tooth cutting, or because he’s suddenly becoming aware that I exist when I’m not with him (and in his mind, I should be with him). He’s a learning/growing machine and I need to try to keep up with him. There’s never time to relax in his upbringing but the cool thing is: that’s totally rewording.

Standard

Leave a Reply

