husband, motherhood, recipe, Uncategorized

My search for the perfect Christmas wine!

Last Thanksgiving, my hubs and I were in Tennessee for my sister-in-law’s wedding. Since we were surrounded by wineries, we decided to do a few tours. One in particular had the most delicious smelling Christmas wine. My husband loved it. Our friend Justin loved it. I… will never know how I felt about it. I was 6 months pregnant with Killian and wasn’t allowed to try it. (In fact, a few tours pointed me out in front of the group and said I should also visit at a later date. Awkward.) I did, however, smell it. It was difficult not to since it was warming in a crock pot and the second anyone lifted the lid, the most pleasant aroma filled the air.

I have been trying desperately to find this wine. I don’t remember the name of the winery. Or the wine. I’d heard that mulled wines were pretty easy to make. But do a Google search for “mulled Christmas wine” (go ahead, I’ll wait here) and you’ll be flooded with results. Most of them sound quite delicious. Some say to use boxed wine (sorry, big turn off for me). Some had family history to theirs. How do you choose which to try this season?

Just when I was at the point of throwing darts to choose (which would have gone badly for my computer) something caught my eye! Game of Thrones spiced wine. Instantly, all I could see was Sean Bean sitting in the Iron Throne sipping wine in a chalice. How could this wine turn out badly?

Well it didn’t (even with me added our own twist). But it wasn’t quite what I was looking for. Plus, it’s an odd muted purple color. On the plus side, it smells delicious and tastes even better. I love drinking it before heading outside to walk the dog since it’s like having an inner heater in the below freezing weather. It’s cozy and comforting, like a Christmas wine should be. Here’s the recipe if you’d like to grace your stove pot with deliciousness!

  • 2 bottles of red wine (I chose the cheapest Merlot… I know, I know, that could’ve ruined the whole thing right there)
  • orange juice (half as much as wine)
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon nutmeg
  • 3 1-inch cubes of fresh ginger, pressed through a garlic press (I used 1 tablespoon of ginger instead)
  • 2 small oranges (I used 4 cuties cut in half)
  • 12-20 cloves, pierced through orange peels
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 6 heaping tablespoons of sugar
  • 3 shots of Wild Turkey Honey (this was our addition)

Heat on the stove but be careful not to boil. Since our household has been sick for weeks (stuffy noses and such) we have no idea if this fills your home with delicious scents. But we can report that it made us not care about being sick. Next year, I’ll definitely make some modifications. Like I mentioned before, the color is quite unappealing and the orange juice also cuts down the alcohol content (hence the Wild Turkey). I think I’ll just use orange peels next time. The flavor is great though. Can’t wait to take this to my mom’s for dinner on Tuesday!

Standard

One thought on “My search for the perfect Christmas wine!

Leave a Reply

