bloggers, humor, Pregnancy, pregnancy, sarcasm

Exactly how wide is this World Wide Web?

It’s weird. When I started this blog, the purpose was so I could eventually show these posts to my son so that he could know how happy and excited his parents were to bring him into the world. And of course, I figured my girlfriends would enjoy my snarky whinings about the labors of pregnancy. However in the last few days several people have liked one of my posts (and reposted my blog). People, that is, that I don’t actually know.

Say what?!

I never expected this to happen. I’ll admit, I met a lot of cool bloggers when I was on another blog site and was a part of a Harry Potter community *ahem* But I didn’t think my mommy blog would attract newcomers. I think I’m mostly surprised by the fact that they’re all health/weight loss blogs. Oddly enough, when I’m not pregnant, I’m pretty skinny. But not health conscious. It wasn’t until I found out that I was pregnant that I actually started watching what I ate. Color me lucky, but I’ve been 120 lbs (or less) my whole adult life and I accomplished this by eating anything I wanted to, even if that was a bacon burger for lunch or cake for breakfast. Wow… I can definitely feel some major “hating you” vibes from that. Sorry, but it’s true, I was just lucky to get some awesome metabolism genes. I just never had to care about what I was putting into my system. That is until I was blessed with my son and my intake actually effected someone else. What I’m trying to say is that I’m in no way a health nut (just a conscious preggo eater). I also don’t workout. Let’s face it, maternity yoga isn’t exactly a workout. It’s just really awesome stretching that can condition your muscles and improve flexibility. Even when I had a free gym membership (for doing marketing at a local gym) I rarely worked out. Now I know what you’re thinking and you’re right: I’m lazy. So how did I end up attracting healthy bloggers? Consider my mind boggled.

It’s just opened my eyes that the world wide web really is world wide. I can somehow connect with health conscious people, current friends, other moms, Kenyan runners, and Final Fantasy larpers… (What? You never know.) The question is this: Is the internet world actually prepared for my sarcastic humor? It’s hard to judge. I’m not even sure most people that know me appreciate my snarky quips all that much. It certainly takes a pretty special individual to understand my sense of humor. What to do? What to do?

I suppose the only thing to do is to trudge forward. I only have 6 weeks left until my due date and at least after that I’ll get to post about the humorous things my son has done instead of all the ditzy things I’ve done. Redirection, it’s an awesome thing!

Standard

Leave a Reply

